Home Page

Ashbourne Dove Valley

Teaching School Alliance


In August 2015, Osmaston C of E Primary School was designated as a National Teaching School. Teaching Schools take a leading role in recruiting and training new entrants to the profession, identifying leadership potential and providing support for other schools, not least by exemplifying excellent standards of teaching.

Teaching Schools are part of the Government's plan to give schools the central role in raising standards, by developing a self-improving and sustainable school-led system.

Osmaston, as the lead school, has formed the 'Ashbourne Dove Valley Teaching School Alliance' with QEGS, Hilltop School and St. Oswald's School as immediate strategic partners. In January 2017, the Village Federation joined as another immediate strategic partner, which comprises of Kirk Ireton and Carsington and Hopton Primary Schools. More recently, the Dales Federation also joined, which comprises of Brailsford and Bradley Primary Schools. Other strategic partners are Derby University, Derby Diocese, Derbyshire Local Authority and The National College of Teaching and Learning. This is the first Teaching School Alliance in the High Peak and Derbyshire Dales and benefits schools in the area who choose to join the Alliance.

Sue Farr was appointed as ADVTSA Director in November 2015. She can be contacted on 01335 343140  or email:

Picture 1 Sue Farr
Picture 2 Jeanette Hart
Picture 3 Rebecca Wood
Picture 4 Hazel Jaques